Fifteen Lawmakers Awarded for Conservative Voting Records

ACUF Releases 2018 Scores of Colorado General Assembly

Alexandria, VA—The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings of the 2018 meeting of the Colorado General Assembly. ACUF’s Ratings—both federal and state—are an initiative of ACUF’s Center for Legislative Accountability. These ratings are designed to reflect how over 8,000 of the nation’s elected officials view the role of government and illustrate the differences between chambers of the legislature, while revealing lawmakers’ positions on a wide variety of issues that directly affect Coloradans.

ACUF reviewed each piece of legislation voted on in both the Senate and House to produce average scores of each chamber as well as individual scores for each sitting member. According to ACUF’s Year in Review, the Colorado General Assembly’s overall conservative score fell compared to the 2017 session (from 48.03 percent to 44.13 percent).

Colorado legislators voted on key issues during the 2018 session. In one or both chambers, they voted to protect Second Amendment rights, expand school choice, and protect property owners from losses due to bans on fracking.

“Conservatives of the Colorado General Assembly made sure liberal local governments that ban fracking must pay back property owners for the profits they lost because of the ban,” said ACU Chairman Matt Schlapp. “Conservatives should view that victory and protections for important constitutionally-guaranteed Second Amendment rights as important wins for Colorado.”

The average score for Republican Colorado House Representatives was 76 percent, while just 15 percent of all representatives earned awards for scoring 80 percent or better. Just 14 percent of Colorado State Senators earned awards.

The overall average for the Colorado General Assembly was 44.13 percent.

Click Here to view the 2018 Ratings of Colorado.

For questions or media inquiries regarding ACUF state ratings, email Luke Schneider, Public Affairs Coordinator for the American Conservative Union Foundation, at