37 Michigan Lawmakers Earn Awards for Conservative Voting Records

ACU Foundation Releases Ratings of Michigan Legislature

For Immediate Release

Alexandria, VA—The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings of the 99th meeting of the Michigan State Legislature. These ratings, a portion of the comprehensive and nationwide ratings released by ACUF, are designed to reflect how elected officials view the role of government and illustrate how both chambers of the legislature and individual members prioritize a wide variety of issue areas that directly affect Michiganders.

ACUF reviewed each piece of legislation voted on in both the Senate and House to produce average scores for each chamber as well as individual scores for each sitting member.

Michigan legislators took pen to paper on various issues during the 99th legislative session. In one or both chambers, they voted to:

  • reduce income taxes;
  • allow concealed carry without a license;
  • permit private lawsuits against local governments that illegally regulate firearms;
  • allow faith-based non-profits to provide reentry services for ex-offenders returning to society, such as educational and vocational training;
  • undercut licensing regimes by eliminating government permits to install security systems and paint houses; and
  • require state agencies to pay court costs if the government is responsible for loss of property value or fails to follow guidelines set by the Attorney General.

“Michigan lawmakers cut taxes, protected Second Amendment rights, and eliminated absurd obstacles that prevent individuals from earning a living,” said ACU Chairman Matt Schlapp. “This session, 13 lawmakers earned 90 percent and above and 63 earned awards, demonstrating a dedication to conservative principles. All in all, it was a good year for commonsense conservative reforms in Michigan.”

ACUF issues awards to recognize members who vote with ACUF’s position at least 80 percent of the time. This session, those members included:

Award for Conservative Excellence (90%-100%): 

Sens. Colbeck and Green; and Reps. Albert, Alexander, Allor, Barrett, Chatfield, Cole, Cox, Farrington, Glenn, Graves, Hernandez, Hoitenga, Hornberger, Kelly, Lauwers, Leonard Lower, Miller, Noble, Reilly, Runestad, Tedder, Theis and Wentworth.

Award for Conservative Achievement (80%-89%): 

Sens. Booher, Brandenburg, Emmons, Hansen, Horn, Hune, Knollenberg, Kowall, MacGregor, Marleau, Meekhof, Pavlov, Proos, Robertson, Schmidt, Schuitmaker, Stamas; and Reps. Bizon, Brann, Calley Canfield, Frederick, Garcia, Griffin, Hauck, Sheppard, Vanderwall, Vaupel, Verheulen, Victory, Webber, Whiteford and Yaroch. 

Members who scored 10 percent or less resisted any commonsense conservative reforms and qualified for ACUF’s “Coalition of the Radical Left.” This session, those members included:

Sens. Gregory and Hood and Reps. Byrd, Cochran, Ellison, Gay-Dagnogo, Green, Neeley, Peterson, Rabhi and Sabo.

Average scores of each chamber increased slightly from last session, with the Senate improving four points (56 percent to 60 percent) and the House improving one point (56 percent to 57 percent). Senate Republicans made the biggest average improvement of any party or chamber, increasing 11 points from last session (66 percent to 78 percent).

Click Here to view the 2017 Ratings of Michigan online, and Click Here to visit our website.

For questions or media inquiries regarding ACUF state ratings, email Luke Schneider, Public Affairs Coordinator for the American Conservative Union Foundation, at lschneider@conservative.org.