26 California Lawmakers Earn Awards for Conservative Voting Record

ACU Foundation Releases Ratings of California State Legislature

For Immediate Release

Alexandria, VA—The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings for the 2017 meeting of the California State Legislature. These ratings, a portion of the comprehensive and nationwide ratings released by ACUF, are designed to reflect how elected officials view the role of government and illustrate how both chambers of the legislature and individual members prioritize a wide variety of issue areas that directly affect Californians.

ACUF reviewed each piece of legislation voted on in both the Senate and Assembly to produce average scores for each chamber as well as individual scores for each sitting member.

California legislators took pen to paper on various issues during the 2017 legislative session. In one or both chambers, they voted to:

• add exemptions to the Public Records Act to hide union negotiations with government from citizens;
• allow union organizers to obtain private contact information;
• inhibit free speech by forcing political committees to disclose donors;
• place a $4 billion low-income housing bill on the 2018 ballot;
• prevent local and state law enforcement from cooperating with federal authorities to enforce immigration law; and 
• establish taxpayer-funded, government-supervised illegal drug injection sites.

“The California legislature continues to demonstrate that extreme liberal policies empower corrupt union bossesprevent access to public information, and diminish freedom of speech,” said ACU Chairman Matt Schlapp. “What’s more, lawmakersendangered California communities by deliberately violating federal immigration laws and fostering a culture of drug addiction.”

ACUF issues awards to recognize members who vote with ACUF’s position at least 80% of the time. This session, those members included:

Award for Conservative Excellence (90%-100%): 

Sens. Anderson, Bates, Fuller, Gaines, Moorlach, Morrell, Nielsen, and Stone; and AsmsAllen, Brough, Choi, Fong, Harper and Melendez.

Award for Conservative Achievement (80%-89%): 

Sens. Berryhill, and Nguyen; and AsmsBigelow, Chen, Dahle, Gallagher, Kiley, Mayes, Obernolte, Patterson, Voepel and Waldron.

Members who scored 10% or less resisted any commonsense conservative reforms and qualified for ACUF’s “Coalition of the Radical Left.” This session, those members included:

Sens. Allen, Atkins, Beall, Bradford, de León, Dodd, Gagliani,HernandezHertzbergHillHueso, Jackson Lara, Leyva, McGuire, Mendoza, Mitchell, Monning, Newman, Pan, PortantinoSkinner, Stern Wieckowski and Wiener; and AsmAguiar-Curry, Berman, Bloom, BocanegraBonta, Burke, Caballero, Calderon, Chau, Chiu, Chu, Daly, Eggman, Friedman, Garcia, C., Garcia, E., Gipson, Gloria, Gonzalez Fletcher, Holden, Jones-Sawyer, Kalra, Limón, Low, McCarty, Medina, MuratsuchiNazarian, O’Donnell, Quirk, Rendon, Reyes, Ridley-Thomas, Rodriguez, Rubio, Santiago, Stone, Thurmond, Ting, Weber and Wood.

Despite Republican Senators’ 90 percent average this session, the Senate average dropped 4 points from last session (35 percent to 31 percent), with Senate Democrats earning 9 percent on average.

The Assembly average increased just 1 point to 33 percent, with Assembly Democrats earning on average a mere 7 percent.

Click Here to view the 2017 Ratings of California online, and Click Here to visit our website.

For questions or media inquiries regarding ACUF state ratings, email Luke Schneider, Public Affairs Coordinator for the American Conservative Union Foundation, at lschneider@conservative.org.