Published Date: 
Thu, 2014-03-06

Contact: Meghan Snyder, (202) 347-9388, [email protected]

Washington, D.C. – Today, The John M. Ashbrook Award was presented to the Honorable William Batchelder, Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives. The John M. Ashbrook Award is bestowed annually to recognize an individual who upholds the ideals of limited constitutional government championed by John M. Ashbrook, the late Ohio congressman and co-founder of the American Conservative Union.

Speaker Batchelder joins a long list of conservative leaders, such as President Ronald Reagan, in receiving this award.

Speaker Batchelder offered the following comment, “We'll never forget what John did for us in Ohio...Thank you for this very great honor and privilege of being in the same organization, the same function that he first led in the 1950s."

Past Ashbrook Award Recipients:

2013 – David Keene

2012 – John Von Kannon

2011 – John Boehner

2010 – Roy Innis

2009 – Thomas S. Winter

2008 – Lee Edwards

2007 – William A. Rusher

2006 – Paul M. Weyrich

2005 – Henry J. Hyde

2004 – J. Kenneth Blackwell

2003 – Tom Delay

2002 – M. Stanton Evans

2001 – John Ashcroft

2000 – Herbert Romerstein

1999 – Philip M. Crane

1998 – Charlton Heston

1997 – Frank Shakespeare

1996 – Robert H. Krieble

1995 – Malcolm Wallop

1994 – Jesse Helms

1993 – Dan Quayle

1992 – Tom Van Meter

1991 – Jeanne Kirkpatrick

1990 – Fred A. Lennon

1989 – Patrick J. Buchanan

1988 – F. Clifton White

1987 – Edwin Meese III

1986 – Ronald Reagan

The Honorable William Batchelder is the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives. He currently is serving his fourth consecutive term and was re-elected by his colleagues to serve a second term as House Speaker during the 130th General Assembly. Speaker Batchelder is the second longest serving Representative in the Ohio House. During his tenure at the Ohio House, Speaker Batchelder has been recognized numerous times with the Watchdog of the Treasury Award. He also received the 4-H Meritorious Service Award and the Friends of 4-H award.

CPAC is taking place March 6-8, 2014 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center, offering three days of blockbuster speeches, policy discussions and networking opportunities – all celebrating the shared principles of smaller government, a strong national defense and traditional American values.

For additional information, download the official CPAC 2014 app by clicking here, on Facebook at, or on Twitter at @CPACnews and #CPAC2014.

Founded in 1964, the American Conservative Union (ACU) is the oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization in the nation. For 50 years, ACU has served as an umbrella organization harnessing the collective strength of conservative organizations fighting for Americans who are concerned with liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values, and strong national defense. ACU defines conservatism, grows conservatism, and wins for conservatism.

Presenting Sponsors: One America News Network, Tea Party Patriots, Townhall Media/Regnery Publishing, The Washington Times

Associate Sponsors: Koch Industries, Persecuted, The Movie

Supporting Sponsors: Altria, CitizenLink, The Heritage Foundation, How Money Walks, Intercollegiate Studies Institute, Liberty Alliance/Inbox First, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, Motion Picture Association of America, National Review, Red Alert Politics, Tea Party News Network

Contributing Sponsors: The Blaze, Citizens United, Leadership Institute, National Draft Ben Carson for President Committee, Red Card Solution

Participating Sponsors: 60 Plus Association, Alliance of European Conservatives and Reformists, Sportsman Channel's Original Series Amazing America with Sarah Palin, America the movie, The American Petroleum Institute, Tradition, Family, Property, Americans for Prosperity, Americans for Tax Reform, Ashbrook Center at Ashland University, BigDawg Music Radio, Christians United for Israel, College Republican National Committee, Competitive Enterprise Institute , Convert! Integrated Marketing, Eagle Forum, Eberle Associates, Inc., Empower Action Group, Fabrizio Lee, Facebook, Freedom Alliance, Gravis Marketing, GW's Graduate School of Political Management, IJ Review, Justice Fellowship, Let Freedom Ring, Policy Issues Institute, 1260 WRC AM - Intelligent Talk Radio, TMA Direct, Turning Point USA, UNFAIR, Young America's Foundation