Published Date: 
Mon, 2014-05-19

Media Contact: Meghan Snyder, (202) 347-9388[email protected]
WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Conservative Union (ACU) today announced the addition of nine new members to its Board of Directors.
“Each of our members come from different backgrounds but all have made significant contributions to the conservative movement,” said Al Cardenas, Chairman of the ACU. “We’re pleased to have them join us as we celebrate 50 years and build the future of our organization.”  
The Board of Directors is under the leadership of First Vice Chairman Tom Winter, newly-elected Second Vice Chairman Matt Schlapp, Treasurer Becky Norton Dunlop, Secretary Jameson Campaigne and immediate past National Chairman David A. Keene. The following members have been elected to serve a two year term:
The Honorable Bob Beauprez, a former member of the House of Representatives, represented Colorado’s 7th Congressional District and served on the House Ways and Means Committee. Beauprez announced his candidacy for Governor of Colorado in March 2014.
Ron Christie, former Deputy Assistant to Vice President Cheney and Special Assistant to President George W. Bush for Domestic Policy. He is also the founder and CEO of Christie Strategies, a communications and issue management firm.
Kellyanne Conway, Founder and President of the polling company, inc./WomanTrend,  a privately-held, woman-owned corporation founded in 1995. Kellyanne is one of the most quoted and noted pollsters on the national scene.
The Honorable Tom DeLay, former House Majority Leader and leading conservative, DeLay is also the author of the New York Times bestselling book “No Retreat, No Surrender: One American’s Fight.” DeLay is founder of First Principles, LLC, a political consulting firm.
The Honorable Luis Fortuno, the former Governor of Puerto Rico. He is also a partner in the Washington office of Steptoe & Johnson, where he is a member of the Corporate, Securities & Finance Group and the Government Affairs and Public Policy Group.
Amy Noone Frederick, President of the 60 Plus Association who represents the interests of senior citizens nationally, with a focus on healthcare, energy and tax issues.
The Honorable Anne Northup represented Kentucky’s 3rd Congressional District in the House of Representatives. In May 2013, Northup joined Bracewell and Giuliani’s Policy Resolution Group where she is senior principal in the Policy Resolution Group.
Ned Ryun, Founder and CEO of Voter Gravity, a map and mobile-based voter contact technology that turns data into votes. A former writer for President George W. Bush and the son of former Olympic medalist and U.S. Rep. Jim Ryun (R-KS), Ned is also the founder and president of American Majority, a non-partisan political training institute that has trained nearly 29,000 liberty-minded leaders in the past six years.
Mark Stephens, has provided strategic messaging and organizational management to major campaigns and political organizations.  He has advised the successful campaigns of Senator Jesse Helms, Senator John East, Senator Lauch Faircloth, Senator Elizabeth Dole, Senator Richard Burr and Senator Ron Johnson.  Mr. Stephens has served as Executive Director of the National Republican Senatorial Committee as well as serving in an advisory capacity for numerous conservative and Republican organizations
For additional information on the ACU Board of Directors, please click here.
Founded in 1964, the American Conservative Union (ACU) is the oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization in the nation. For 50 years, ACU has served as an umbrella organization harnessing the collective strength of conservative organizations fighting for Americans who are concerned with liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values, and strong national defense. ACU defines conservatism, grows conservatism, and wins for conservatism.