Quantcast American Conservative Union | American Conservative Union Announces Inaugural Conservative Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly American Conservative Union Announces Inaugural Conservative Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly | American Conservative Union

American Conservative Union Announces Inaugural Conservative Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly

October 25, 2012

American Conservative Union Announces Inaugural Conservative Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly

Country’s Leading Conservative Organization Rating State Legislators,

Tenth of 15 States in 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Conservative Union (ACU) today announced its inaugural ACU Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly. The ACU will honor the Hawkeye State’s true conservatives at the Iowa Faith and Freedom Coalition’s Friends of the Family Banquet Saturday evening. The nation’s oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization began a new initiative in 2011 to expand the highly touted ACU Congressional Ratings program to state legislatures, grading members on their votes on key conservative issues. The Iowa 2012 State Legislative Ratings Guide is now available online at conservative.org.“On behalf of the American Conservative Union, I am pleased to announce the winners of our 2012 State Legislative Ratings for members of the Iowa General Assembly,” said ACU Chairman Al Cardenas. “For 40 years ACU has set the gold standard for Congressional ratings, and we are now able to offer that same level of transparent information to the voters of the Hawkeye State so they can hold their elected officials accountable at the state level as well. I am grateful for the opportunity to honor the winners at the Iowa Faith and Freedom Coalition’s banquet Saturday evening.”

Last year, the American Conservative Union launched a new initiative to bring its annual Ratings of Congress – considered the gold standard of conservative voter education guides – to the state level, issuing inaugural ratings of state legislators in the battleground states of Florida, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio and the Commonwealth of Virginia. In the second year of this new program, the ACU is issuing these ratings in fifteen states, based on the legislators’ votes on conservative issues.

The ACU Ratings of the Iowa General Assembly will include scores for each individual member in both the State Senate and House of Representatives, a description of the votes scored and lists of members receiving special recognition as “Defenders of Liberty,” “ACU Conservatives,” or “True Liberals of the Hawkeye State.”

The ACU tracks a wide range of issues before state legislatures to determine which issues and votes serve as a clear litmus test separating those representatives who defend liberty and liberal members who have turned their backs on our founding principles – constitutionally limited government, individual liberty, free markets, a strong national defense and traditional values. The votes selected for our inaugural State Legislative Ratings were chosen to create a clear ideological distinction among those casting them.

ACU today recognized the winners of the “Defender of Liberty” award, given to those members of the Iowa General Assembly who were present and cast a vote for each adjudicated roll call and scored 100 percent on the ACU 2012 State Legislative Ratings. In the Iowa Senate, the recipients are Jerry Behn, Mark Chelgren, Bill Dix, Steve Kettering, Paul McKinley, James A. Seymour, Jack Whitver, and Brad Zaun. In the Iowa House of Representatives, the recipients are Dwayne Alons, Chip Baltimore, Joel Fry, Chris Hagenow, Erik Helland, Lance Horbach, Ron Jorgensen, Jarad Klein, Mark Lofgren, Dawn Pettengill, J. Scott Raecker, Walt Rogers, Thomas Sands, Jason Schultz, Jeff Smith, Chuck Soderberg, Annette Sweeney, Jeremy Taylor, Guy Vander Linden, Nick Wagner, and Matt Windschitl.

The winners of the “ACU Conservative” award – given to those members who scored 80 percent or higher – in the Iowa Senate are Joni Ernst, Randy Feenstra, Sandra Greiner, James Hahn, Hubert Houser, David Johnson, Roby Smith, and Kent Sorenson. In the Iowa House of Representatives, the recipients are Richard Anderson, Richard Arnold, Clel Baudler, Joshua Byrnes, Royd Chambers, Peter Cownie, Betty De Beof, Dave Deyoe, Cecil Dolecheck, Greg Forristall, Julian Garrett, Pat Grassley, Robert Hager, Mary Hanusa, David Heaton, Daniel Huseman, Stewart Iverson, Kevin Koester, Steven Lukan, Linda Miller, Brian Moore, Kraig Paulsen, Ross Paustian, Kim Pearson, Dan Rasmussen, Henry Rayhons, Tom Shaw, David Tjepkes, Linda Upmeyer, James Van Engelenhoven, Ralph Watts, and Gary Worthan.

In the Senate, the members who scored an atrocious “zero” on the ratings, earning “True Liberals of the Hawkeye State” awards, are Daryl Beall, Joe Bolkcom, Tod Bowman, Tom Courtney, Jeff Danielson, Bill Dotzler, Bob Dvorsky, Gene Fraise, Mike Gronstal,

Loni Hancock, Wally Horn, Pam Jochum, Jack Kibbie, Liz Mathis, Matt McCoy, Herman Quirmbach, Amanda Ragan, Rom Rielly, Brian Schoenjahn, Joe Seng, Steve Sodders, and Mary Jo Wilhelm. The “True Liberals” in the House of Representatives are Dennis Cohoon, Charles Isenhart Dave Jacoby, Anesa Kajtazovic, Jerry Kearns, Bob Kressig, Jim Lykam, Jo Oldson, Tyler Olson, Janet Petersen, Mark Smith, Sharon Steckman, Nathan Willems, and Mary Wolfe.

Founded in 1964, the ACU represents the views of Americans who are concerned with economic growth through lower taxes and reduced government spending and the issues of liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values and national security.  ACU first began rating members of Congress on key conservative voting issues in 1971, and since then their ratings system has become the most important conservative measuring stick in American politics.

For more information on the American Conservative Union or to download the full Iowa 2012 State Legislative Ratings Guide, please visit our website at conservative.org.

Join ACU

The ACU Blog

ACU Praises FCC Chairman Ajit Pai’s Unwavering Resolve and Congratulates Pai, Fellow Commissioners on Passage of Order to Restore Internet Freedom

 WASHINGTON DC – The American Conservative Union (ACU) applauds Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai for his decision to end Obama-era regulations imposed on

North Dakota Assembly Resumes After Year Hiatus…With No Real Surprises, One Senator Receiving Award

ALEXANDRIA, VA – The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings for the 2017 meeting of the North Dakota Legislative Assembly. These

Deficit Hawk Bob Corker? Actually, Not So Much

By: Larry Hart


In his statement today, Senator Bob Corker said this: “My concern about the impact

ACU Condemns Racist and Personal Attacks against FCC Chairman Ajit Pai and his Family

The American Conservative Union stands firmly on the side of FCC Chairman Ajit Pai and condemns the horrific personal and racist attacks leveled at Pai

CPAC 365

Founded in 1964, the American Conservative Union (ACU) is the original conservative organization in the nation. For more than fifty years, ACU has served as an umbrella organization harnessing the collective strength of conservative organizations fighting for Americans who are concerned with liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values, and strong national defense. As America's premier conservative voice, ACU is the leading entity in providing conservative positions on issues to Congress, the Executive Branch, State Legislatures, the media, political candidates, and the public. Read More

Ph: (202) 347-9388 | Fx: (202) 347-9389

Contact Us
Privacy Policy

American Conservative Union. All Rights Reserved.