Quantcast American Conservative Union | American Conservative Union Announces Conservative Ratings of the Ohio General Assembly American Conservative Union Announces Conservative Ratings of the Ohio General Assembly | American Conservative Union

American Conservative Union Announces Conservative Ratings of the Ohio General Assembly

December 10, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Conservative Union (ACU) today announced its ACU Ratings of the Ohio General Assembly during an event in Columbus, Ohio, honoring The Buckeye State’s true conservatives. The nation’s oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization began a new initiative to expand the highly touted ACU Congressional Ratings program to state legislatures, grading members on their votes on key conservative issues. The Ohio 2012 State Legislative Ratings Guide is now available online at conservative.org.

“On behalf of the American Conservative Union, I am pleased to announce the winners of our 2012 State Legislative Ratings for members of the Ohio General Assembly,” said ACU Chairman Al Cardenas. “For 40 years ACU has set the gold standard for Congressional ratings, and we are now able to offer that same level of transparent information to the voters of The Buckeye State so they can hold their elected officials accountable at the state level as well. As we highlighted at our regional CPAC in Chicago earlier this year, we applaud conservatives in the Ohio Legislature who continue to fight for the rights of the unborn and against tax increases and government waste.”

Last year, the American Conservative Union launched a new initiative to bring its annual Ratings of Congress – considered the gold standard of conservative voter education guides – to the state level, issuing inaugural ratings of state legislators in the battleground states of Florida, Nevada, Indiana, Ohio and the Commonwealth of Virginia. In the second year of this new program, the ACU is issuing these ratings in fifteen states, based on the legislators’ votes on conservative issues.

The ACU Ratings of the Ohio General Assembly will include scores for each individual member in both the State Senate and House of Representatives, a description of the votes scored and lists of members receiving special recognition as “Defenders of Liberty,” “ACU Conservatives,” or “True Liberals of The Buckeye State.”

The ACU tracks a wide range of issues before state legislatures to determine which issues and votes serve as a clear litmus test separating those representatives who defend liberty and liberal members who have turned their backs on our founding principles – constitutionally limited government, individual liberty, free markets, a strong national defense and traditional values. The votes selected for our State Legislative Ratings were chosen to create a clear ideological distinction among those casting them.

ACU today recognized the winners of the “Defender of Liberty” award, given to those members of the Ohio General Assembly who were present and cast a vote for each adjudicated roll call and scored 100 percent on the ACU 2012 State Legislative Ratings. In the State Senate, the recipients are Kevin Bacon, Dave Burke, Bill Coley, Keith Faber, Cliff Hite, Jim Hughes, Kris Jordan, Thomas E. Niehaus, Larry Obhof, Tim Schaffer, Bill Seitz, Mark Wagoner, and Chris Widener. In the House of Representatives the award winners are Nan A. Baker, Peter Beck, Danny R. Bubp, Jim Buchy, Brian Hill, Ron Maag, Kirk Schuring, Louis Terhar, and Lynn R. Wachtmann.

The winners of the “ACU Conservative” award – given to those members who scored 80 percent or higher – in the State Senate are Troy Balderson, Bill Beagle, John Eklund, Shannon Jones, Gayle Manning, Scott Oelsager, Tom Patton, and Bob Peterson. The recipients in the Ohio House of Representatives are John Adams, Richard N. Adams, Ron Amstutz, William G. Batchelder, Terry Blair, Louis W. Blessing, Jr., Terry Boose, Andrew Brenner, Jim Butler, Courtney Combs, Margaret Conditt, Rex Damschroder, Timothy Derickson, Anthony DeVitis, Mike Dovilla, Randy Gardner, Anne  Gonzales, Cheryl L. Grossman, Christina Hagan, David Hall, Bill Hayes, Jay Hottinger, Matt Huffman, Casey Kozlowski, Al Landis, Matt Lynch, Jarrod B. Martin, Jeffrey A. McClain, Craig Newbold, Dorothy Pelanda, Kristina   Roegner, Margaret Ann Ruhl, Gary Scherer, Barbara R. Sears, Marilyn Slaby, Ryan Smith, Robert Sprague, Peter Stautberg, Gerald L. Stebelton, Andy Thompson, Joseph W. Ueker, and Ron Young.

In the House of Representatives, the members who scored an atrocious “zero” on the ratings, earning a “True Liberals of The Buckeye State” award, are Joe Schiavoni, Michael J. Skindell, Shirley A. Smith, and Charleta B. Tavares. In the Ohio House of Representatives, Mike Ashford is the sole recipient.

Founded in 1964, the ACU represents the views of Americans who are concerned with economic growth through lower taxes and reduced government spending and the issues of liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values and national security.  ACU first began rating members of Congress on key conservative voting issues in 1971, and since then their ratings system has become the most important conservative measuring stick in American politics.

For more information on the American Conservative Union or to download the full Ohio 2012 State Legislative Ratings Guide, please visit our website at conservative.org.


Join ACU

The ACU Blog

Florida’s 2017 State Ratings – One of the Nation’s Leading ACUF Award Recipients

ALEXANDRIA, VA – The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings for the 2017 meeting of the Florida Legislature. These ratings, a

ACU Chairman Matt Schlapp statement on today’s meetings on Criminal Justice Reform

President Trump and his administration have already accomplished the most important part in this struggle to have more people reenter civil society and that is

JUST RELEASED: ACUF’s 2017 Tennessee State Ratings, the Volunteer State on Track to be Year’s Top Scorer

ALEXANDRIA, VA – The American Conservative Union Foundation (ACUF) has just released its ratings for the 2017 meeting of the Tennessee General Assembly. These

ACU Leads Coalition Urging Strong IP Protections for Any Renegotiated NAFTA Deal

Dear Ambassador Lighthizer,

“Intellectual property is a driving force in today’s global economy of constant innovation. It is the wellspring of American economic growth and

CPAC 365

Founded in 1964, the American Conservative Union (ACU) is the original conservative organization in the nation. For more than fifty years, ACU has served as an umbrella organization harnessing the collective strength of conservative organizations fighting for Americans who are concerned with liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values, and strong national defense. As America's premier conservative voice, ACU is the leading entity in providing conservative positions on issues to Congress, the Executive Branch, State Legislatures, the media, political candidates, and the public. Read More

Ph: (202) 347-9388 | Fx: (202) 347-9389

Contact Us
Privacy Policy

American Conservative Union. All Rights Reserved.